Under Fortunate Stars (Solaris, 2022)

Two ships. One chance to save the future...


Fleeing the final days of the generations-long war with the alien Felen, smuggler Jereth Keeven's freighter the Jonah breaks down in a strange rift in deep space, with little chance of rescue—until they encounter the research vessel Gallion, which claims to be from 152 years in the future.

The Gallion's chief engineer Uma Ozakka has always been fascinated with the past, especially the tale of the Fortunate Five, who ended the war with the Felen. When the Gallion rescues a run-down junk freighter, Ozakka is shocked to recognize the Five's legendary ship—and the Five's famed leader, Eldric Leesongronski, among the crew.

But nothing else about Leesongronski and his crewmates seems to match up with the historical record. With their ships running out of power in the rift, more than the lives of both crews may be at stake.

Under Fortunate Stars by Ren Hutchings

HARDCOVER, EBOOK & AUDIOBOOK AVAILABLE NOW!

Praise for Under Fortunate Stars

"Destined to be one of the breakout science fiction novels of 2022."
– Michael Mammay, author of the Planetside series

"A wholly original and compulsively readable story. Exciting, funny, truthful."
– Una McCormack, NYT-bestselling science fiction author

"An absolute must-read for anyone needing a little hope."
– K.B. Wagers, author of Hold Fast Through the Fire

"A twisty, enthralling space-time opera. Fortunate readers, and a future star."
– Stephen Baxter, Philip K. Dick & BSFA Award-winning SF author


"Lovingly fuses a sprawling cast of charmingly flawed characters and a plot with many moving parts into a smooth and satisfying whole."

– Publishers Weekly

“An immensely fun space opera adventure, chock full of surprises and wonderful characters. Fans of Becky Chambers and Valerie Valdes will love this.”

– John Appel, author of Assassin's Orbit


“An engaging space saga with time-travel twists, and a compelling look at how past and future are created not only by those who live it but those who record it.”

– Library Journal (Starred Review)

"A fun, puzzle box of a mystery!"
– Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon

 

"One of the best books I've read this year."

– Gareth L. Powell, BSFA Award-winning author of Embers of War


“An engrossing interstellar escapade with appeal for fans of Becky Chambers, Alex White, and S.K. Dunstall.”

– Booklist
 

“Boasting a heart full of hope, captivating characters you can’t help but root for, and a breathless, high-octane mystery...  The kind of space opera we need right now.”
– Karen Osborne, author of Architects of Memory

"Smart, slick, and mind-blowingly twisty... Woven with crackling wit, this is an unmissable debut."
– Claire Winn, author of City of Shattered Light

"An engrossing mystery gene-spliced with a thrilling sci-fi adventure, Under Fortunate Stars feels like a newly unearthed classic that’s miraculously stood the test of time."

– SJ Whitby, author of the Cute Mutants series

"An electrifying mix of wild ideas, vivid far futures and good fun."
Eeleen Lee, author of Liquid Crystal Nightingale

Under Fortunate Stars manages to tease out the familiar, best parts of the genre – and then flip them inside out.’ 

– Locus
 

“An entertaining, engrossing read.”

– Buzzfeed